92nd Annual General Meeting Minutes

Held on Sunday 30th August 2020 at 10.00am, in the ILT Stadium Southland – Lounge 2 Room, Invercargill.

WELCOME: Waric Cross extended a warm welcome to everyone and especially to Life Members Adrienne Pope, Elizabeth Tapper, Jan Douglas & Robin Jackson

PRESENT Chairperson Waric Cross

Executive Officer Julie Crawford

APOLOGIES Ethel Naylor (Life Member) Lyn Sutherland (Life Member)

Judi Devine (Life Member)

Margaret Sutton (Life Member)

Yvonne McDonald (Life Member)

John Sutton (Life Member)

Joan Hodges (Life Member)

Michelle Pratt (SS Management)

MOVED Fenton Herrick SECONDED Rachel Black

"That the apologies be recorded as sustained".

MOTION PUT CARRIED

DELEGATES - Roll Call

Club	Delegates Name/s in attendance		
Bluff (2)	-		
Central Southland (2)	Bobby Douglas, Jane Douglas		
Fiordland (3)	-		
Hokonui (1)	Lynne Grant		
Riverton (2)	-		
Waiau (2)	-		
Collegiate (3)	Sheryll Joyce, Warren Joyce, Andrea McWilliam		
Johnson Waters (1)	Brittney Johnson		
Murihiku (4)	John Tinker, Linda Tinker, Angela Biggar, Caroline Speight		
Orca (4)	Fenton Herrick, Michelle Pratt, Emma Shaw, Yvonnette Fox		
Oreti (2)	-		
Waverley (2)	Russell Keen, Kelly Lafoga		

LIFE MEMBERS

Jan Douglas, Elizabeth Tapper, Adrienne Pope & Robin Jackson

MANAGEMENT

Waric Cross, Yvonnette Fox, Fenton Herrick & Lynne Grant

VOTING STRENGTH

Eligible Delegates	17	(28 possible)
Life Members	4	
Management Members	4	
TOTAL	25	

VISITORS

Katrina Garrett (SS Development Officer), Jeremy Duncan (SS Head Coach), Meagan McCabe (HOK), Anne Strudwicke (WAV), Rachel Black (WAV), Roger Eagle (MKU), Trudy Brown (HOK)

SPEAKING RIGHTS

MOVED Elizabeth Tapper

SECONDED Lynne Grant

"That speaking rights to visitors as recorded be granted".

MOTION PUT.... CARRIED

ADDITIONS TO GENERAL BUSINESS

Correspondence Inwards – Nil

MINUTES 91st Annual General Meeting – 19th August 2019

MOVED John Tinker SECONDED Yvonnette Fox

"That the Minutes of the 91st Annual General Meeting – held 25th August 2019, be received."

MOTION PUT..... CARRIED

Matters arising: to remove Jan Douglas from the 2019 AGM - Life Members attending. She did not

attend the meeting.

MOVED Russell Keen SECONDED Sheryll Joyce

"That the Minutes of the $91^{\rm st}$ Annual General Meeting, with amendments – held $25^{\rm th}$ August 2019

are accepted as a true and correct record."

MOTION PUT...... CARRIED

2019.2020 - 92nd SWIMMING SOUTHLAND ANNUAL REPORT

MOVED Rachel Black SECONDED Warren Joyce

"That the 92nd Swimming Southland Annual Report be received."

MOTION PUT..... CARRIED

CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT

Waric read through his Presidents Report, highlighting the wonderful success over the year and reiterating the gratitude towards our amazing funders. He also acknowledged Warren Joyce for always helping and checking the Technical Gear and is always working and repairing if needed – thanks Warren.

Orca Swimming Club have donated bells for the long distance races. Much appreciated and was well received from Swimming Southland and the IOT's.

MOVED Kelly Lafoga SECONDED Yvonnette Fox

"That the 92nd Chairperson's report be adopted."

MOTION PUT...... CARRIED

ANNUAL REPORT

Members of Management were invited to speak or add comments to their reports as the Chairperson moved through the Annual Report.

Club Reports

Present clubs were invited to speak or add any further comments to their reports.

Obituary

Alan Matheson & Graeme Mulligan were acknowledged in our swimming community and will be sadly missed.

MOVEDTrudy Brown

SECONDED Warren Joyce

"That the 92nd Swimming Southland Annual report be adopted."

MOTION PUT...... CARRIED

FINANCIAL REPORT – STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTS 2019.2020

MOVED John Tinker SECONDED Sheryll Joyce

"That the Statement of Accounts 2019.2020 be received and adopted once approved by the auditors"

MOTION PUT..... CARRIED

Julie to email around to attendees once approved from auditors.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

PATRON Mr John Sutton

SELECTORS

Fenton Herrick and Trudy Brown are both sitting members of this committee. Warren Joyce is stepping down after completing two - 3 year terms.

Angela Biggar was nominated by Linda Tinker and Meagan McCabe was nominated from Lynne

Grant for the position. Waric called for a vote from Club delegates and Life

Members.

MOVED John Tinker SECONDED Warren Joyce

"Nominate Angela Biggar (MKU) to the position of Selectors for a 3 year term."

MOTION PUT..... CARRIED

REGIONAL EXAMINER Currently Tim Ward (OCA)

Tim is happy to continue in this role (nb: the position requires a National Referee)

MOVED Adrienne Pope SECONDED Fenton Herrick

"Confirm Tim Ward (OCA) to the position of Chief Regional Examiner".

MOTION PUT.... CARRIED

BLAZER/AWARDS COMMITTEE Currently Lyn Sutherland, Elizabeth Tapper, Adrienne Pope. There was no changes to the Blazer/Awards committee this year.

Auditors BDO Invercargill

(Approved)

Solicitors Preston Russell Law

(Approved) Eagles Eagles and Redpath

MOVED John Tinker SECONDED Yvonnette Fox

"That the approved positions be confirmed."

MOTION PUT..... Carried

Julie Crawford (EO), collected and counted the voting forms for the new season of Swimming Southland Management Board.

MANAGEMENT

Both Michelle Pratt (ORA) and Lynne Grant (HOK) are standing members of the Management Board (both at 1 year of their first 3 year term).

Both Waric Cross (MKU) and Fenton Herrick (ORA) are standing members of the Management Board (both at 2 year of their first 3 year term).

Under the regional constitution, the management board is to consist of six members, at least two of these members are not to be in a governance role within their swimming club.

We can confirm that Waric and Yvonnette (who is re-applying) are not currently in a governance role within their club committee (this meets the standards required within the constitution).

We have two positions remaining, with the following three nominations received;

- 1. Yvonnette Fox Nomination from the Orca Swimming Club
- 2. Roger Eagles Nomination from the Murihiku Swimming Club
- 3. Angela Biggar Nomination from the Hokonui Swimming Club

As per voting process, one vote per eligible club being received, we can confirm the votes have been counted and the following six members are the 2020.2021 Swimming Southland Management Board;

- 1. Waric Cross (MKU)
- 2. Fenton Herrick (OCA)
- 3. Michelle Pratt (OCA)
- 4. Lynne Grant (HOK)
- 5. Yvonnette Fox (OCA)
- 6. Roger Eagle (MKU)

MOVED Fenton Herrick SECONDED Lynne Grant

"That the elected nominees as above be confirmed to the Swimming Southland Management Board for 2020.2021 season"

MOTION PUT..... CARRIED

AWARDS COMMITTEE

Nil

GENERAL

Russel Cushion Room

While the space where Russel Cushen meeting room was has been repurposed for the new water slide there is a new meeting room included in the plan. While this room will not be as big it will be more suited for meetings with a large screen for presentations etc.

The Russell Cushen Room had also been used for official's breakfasts/meetings for National meets such as Div IIs. If we manage to get these meets in the future we will work together on finding suitable solutions.

Olympic & Commonwealth Games Photos

Peter Thompson has proposed we digitise the photos and Splash Palace are planning to supply a large screen to display these. Along with the photo it was proposed we could add a write up for people to read about the representatives' experience. I was thinking there is potential to take this further and possibly record the representatives themselves speaking of their experiences.

The proposed placement for the screen is on the wall beside where a lot of our younger swimmers wait to get picked up. I believe this would be very engaging and informative and inspire them.

Meeting Closed: 11.05am