

## LEAGUE ONE - PROMOTION/RELEGATION

Based on the feedback received from clubs and WaiBOP Football Federation staff, the following guidelines will be used when determining Promotion/Relegation within League One and to the NRFL Southern Conference for the 2025 season.

## Variables

- A Club may be relegated from NRFL Championship to Southern Conference
- Winner of NRFL Southern Conference may or may not win promotion to NRFL Championship
- Winner of League One may not meet criteria for promotion to NRFL Southern Conference

## GUIDELINES

- 1. The long-term goal of League One is that it will be made up solely of club first teams. If the teams in the relegation zone are club 'first' teams, they would not be relegated from League One in favour of a club 'third' team being promoted from a local league.
- 2. Club 'first' teams would be protected in League One, therefore the lowest placed 'third' team/s would be relegated, regardless of finishing place in table. Two teams may be relegated from League One if both the winner of Waikato Division 1 and Men's Bay 1 are eligible to be promoted.
- 3. The preference is for the league to be a 10-team league, double round robin, 18 weeks so teams would be promoted/relegated to keep the 10-team league balance.
- 4. If a club first team that is eligible to be promoted to Southern Conference doesn't win League One, the highest finishing club first team may be eligible to play off against the lowest placed NRFL Southern Conference team for entry into the league. The club first team must have finished no lower than 3<sup>rd</sup> place.
- 5. If there is a space in NRFL Southern Conference due to promotion, the highest placed League One team (that meets the entry criteria) would need to be promoted from League One to keep the 8-team balance.
- 6. If a team is relegated from NRFL Championship, there will be a playoff between the winner of League One and the 7<sup>th</sup> placed NRFL Southern Conference team so there is still the opportunity for promotion and the NRFL Southern Conference will remain an 8-team league.