

# Wellington Masters Cycling Club Inc.

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Sunday 16 July 2023 at Pelorus Trust Sports House, Hutt Park Road, Lower Hutt

# 1. Welcome:

Deborah Wright, Club President, welcomed attendees and opened the meeting at 2:15pm.

2. <u>Attendance and Apologies:</u>

**Present:** Steve Bale, Doug Barrett, Brendan Bateup, Angela Campbell, Nathan Cook, Stuart Cowley, Brittany Dykes, Jason Fox, Liz Gasson, John Goodman, Dave Grimmond, Saskia Holditch, Jason Hooper, Jeremy Howe, Andrew Kerr, Jo & Mark Neeson, Alister Rhodes, John Rowlinson, Garth Stewart, John Wood and Deborah Wright.

# Proxies: None

**Apologies:** Dianna Borman, Michael Burrowes, Laurence Edge, Jackie Field, Ellis Goodyear, Michael Jacques, Oliver Layug, Ross Jackson, Jaja Reyes, Richard Schofield, Stephen Wallace and Paul Wrigley.

**Quorum:** 22 members in attendance and 0 proxies for a total of 22. The quorum for the meeting was 10 [the greater of 10 or 10% of the current total (90) of life (13) and ordinary (77) members].

#### 3. Minutes of 2022 AGM:

The minutes were accepted as a true and correct record. Moved: Deborah Wright and Doug Barrett. Vote: Carried

4. <u>Matters Arising from Previous Minutes:</u>

There were no matters arising.

5. <u>Correspondence In and Out:</u>

Stephen O'Keefe's letter re the Audit of Financial Statements for year ending 31 May 2022 was tabled and read. It confirmed that the statements presented fairly, in all material respects the Club's financial position as at 31 May 2022 and its financial performance for the year then ended. Stephen had made recommendations for improvement and has suggested that we consider timing changes that would mean we would be able to present audited financial statements to future AGMs. The committee will consider these recommendations and action appropriately.

There was no Outward correspondence to report.

# 6. President's Report:

Deborah Wright spoke to her report which had been circulated prior to the meeting. Key points noted were:

- Significant changes to the calendar for 2023-24 as we try to ensure that we can run our events within our available resources. The Fun Ride will not be held and neither will the Wednesday Evening TT Series.
- We will run the Two Day Tour but this will be held later in March and will be based in Carterton.
- There was significant discussion of the pros and cons of extending the membership age range to include younger riders. The incoming committee will follow this idea up.

The President's report was accepted. Moved: Deborah Wright and Dave Grimmond. Vote: Carried

Meeting suspended between 3:20pm and 4:05pm for afternoon tea and prizegiving

# 7. Treasurer's Report:

Garth Stewart spoke to the Annual Report to 31 May 2023 which had been circulated prior to the meeting. Key points noted were:

- Overall a small loss for the year of \$1k
- Income: \$13k down on the previous year primarily due to the Fun Ride cancellation and rearrangement and the cancellation of the Two Day Tour
- Expenditure: \$7k down on the previous year with savings made on event expenses offset by the write off of club uniform stocks and van maintenance costs to address issues with brakes and rust.

The Treasurer's report was accepted. Moved: Deborah Wright and Saskia Holditch. Vote: Carried

# 8. Auditor:

It was proposed that Stephen O'Keefe be appointed as Honorary Auditor. Moved: Garth Stewart and Deborah Wright. Vote: Carried.

#### 9. <u>Subscriptions:</u>

It was proposed that all members renew their 2023-24 memberships via the Cycling NZ website and that all members hold a Cycling NZ Sport Membership for 2024. Adoption of this proposal would have the following benefits:

- It would bring the club into compliance with the Cycling NZ rule that individual members of affiliated clubs must be Cycling NZ Sport Members.
- It would allow the club to take advantage of the Cycling NZ liability insurance scheme which would provide cover for all events we organise and provide cover to individual members. Once fully implemented, this would allow the club to cancel the liability insurance cover it currently arranges.

The proposal was accepted and it was agreed that the Club subscription would be held at \$85 for 2023-24. Moved: John Goodman and Garth Stewart. Vote: Carried

#### 10. Life Members:

No nominations were made.

11. Appointments and Roles:

Position	Nominee	Proposer	Seconder
President	Jason Fox	Deborah Wright	Doug Barrett
Vice President	Saskia Holditch	Deborah Wright	Jason Fox
Treasurer	Garth Stewart	John Goodman	Doug Barrett
Secretary	John Goodman	Garth Stewart	Doug Barrett
Club Captain (Men)	Dave Grimmond	Garth Stewart	Andrew Kerr
Club Captain (Women)			
Management Committee Member (8 maximum)	Stuart Cowley		Jason Fox
	Laurence Edge	Saskia Holditch	
	Jackie Field		
	Liz Gasson		
	Peter Mora		

All Nominees were elected unopposed.

Key Roles		
Traffic Management	John Goodman	
Volunteers	Vacant	

Key Roles		
Handicapper	Jason Fox	
Assistant Handicapper	Dave Grimmond	
Sponsorship/Publicity	Vacant	
Newsletter Editor	Vacant	
Website Editor / Results	Michael Jacques Oliver Layug	
ONETIME Administrator	Stuart Cowley	
Hall Bookings	Pete Mora	
Lake Wairarapa Cycle Challenge Race Director	Not required	
Two Day Tour Race Director	Deborah Wright	
Deputy Treasurer	Jackie Field	
Uniforms	Deborah Wright Garth Stewart	
Trophy Organiser	Saskia Holditch	

#### 12. Bank Account Signatories:

Arising from the position changes above, the following individuals were authorised to operate the Club's bank account: Robert Jason Fox (President), John Goodman (Secretary), Michael Garth Stewart (Treasurer) and Jackie Lee Field (Deputy Treasurer).

#### 13. General Business:

1. Vote of Thanks

Garth Stewart and Jason Fox proposed a vote of thanks to acknowledge Deborah Wright's leadership of the Club over the past three years as President and special mention was made of the commitment, energy and enthusiasm she had brought to the role. Moved: Garth Stewart and Jason Fox. Vote: Carried

Meeting Closed: 4.55pm