Clash between NZ Maori XIII and NZ Residents back on board

New Zealand Māori Rugby League (NZMRL) selectors have named a 23-man squad in the running to take on the New Zealand Residents team on Saturday, October 15 at Davies Park in Huntly.

NZMRL Chairman, John Devonshire, says New Zealand Rugby League were eager to revive the annual fixture, which was suspended three-years ago.

“We were only too happy to accommodate the request for a game between our Māori side and the NZ residents… and with a large pool of talented Māori rugby league players to choose from, it should be a great game”, says Mr Devonshire.

In the mix to play in the green and black jersey, are first grade NRL, Holden Cup and NSW cup players, as well as domestic competition players from around the motu.  Selectors will look at reducing the number on October 1, after the Kiwi team and NZ residents have been selected.

The highly anticipated clash is one of three games that will be played on the day and is being dedicated to NZMRL life member, Robert Bob Tukiri (MNZM), for his contribution to the Huntly community and to Māori rugby league.

Similarly, the curtain raiser between the NZMRL Wāhine Toa and the Pasifika Women is being dedicated to two female stalwarts of rugby league, namely NZ Women’s Rugby League chair, Christine Panapa and NZRL life member, Cathy Friend (QSM, DSA).

Mr Devonshire says “we want to celebrate their achievements and lifelong commitments to rugby league at this auspicious occasion and hope their families will join us too”.


Games are to be held on Saturday, October 15 at Davies Park, Huntly:

11:00 am – Te Atiawa Mens vs Waikato Māori Mens

1:00 pm – NZ Wāhine Toa vs Pasifika Women

3:00 pm – NZ Māori XIII vs NZ Residents


NZ Māori Residents 23-man squad:

AOAKE Tomasi                                  NZ Warriors                                        NSW Cup                            Ngāti Ranginui

BELL James                                         NZ Warriors                                        NSW Cup                            Tūwharetoa / Tainui

BHANA David                                    Newcastle Knights                            NSW Cup                            Ngāpuhi       

BISHOP Trent                                     Howick Hornets                                 Fox Memorial                   Ngāpuhi / Ngāti Kahu

DOCKER-CLAY Zach                         Penrith Panthers                               NSW Cup                            Te Atiawa / Ngāti Porou

DOYLE-MANGA Carne                    Wyong Roo’s                                      NSW Cup                            Ngāti Raukawa / Ngāti Kapumanawawhiti

EASTWOOD Greg                             Canterbury Bulldogs                        NRL                                       Tainui

EDWARDS Delane                            Fremantle Roosters                         Western Australia           Tainui / Ngāti Mahanga

EDWARDS George                           Papakura Sea Eagles                      Fox Memorial                   Tainui / Tūwharetoa

HOTENE Carlos                                  Howick Hornets                                 Fox Memorial                   Ngāpuhi / Ngāti Awa

KARA Kurt                                            Newtown Jets                                    NSW Cup                            Tainui / Tūwharetoa

MILNE Taane                                     St George Illawarra Dragons        NSW Cup                            Tainui / Ngāti Maniapoto

ROGERS Piki                                       North Sydney Bears                         NSW Cup                            Ngāpuhi / Tūhoe

RONA Curtis                                       Canterbury Bulldogs                        NRL                                       Te Atiawa

SAMSON Kouma                              Glenora Bears                                    Fox Memorial                   Te Arawa / Ngāpuhi

SNELL Dion                                          Mt Albert Lions                                  Fox Memorial                   Ngāpuhi

THOMPSON Bodene                       NZ Warriors                                        NRL                                       Ngai Te Rangi

TUIA Tony                                           Howick Hornets                                 Fox Memorial                   Ngāti Whātua / Ngāti Porou

WATENE-ZELEZNIAK Malakai    Penrith Panthers                               NSW Cup                            Ngāti Maru 

DAWSON Keanu                               NZ Warriors                                        Holden Cup                        Tainui

OSBORNE Manaia                          Whiti Te Ra                                         Wellington                         Ngāti Raukawa / Ngāti Rangitihi

PENEHA Te Ariki                               Whiti Te Ra                                         Wellington                         Ngāti Raukawa

RATU Dana                                         Taniwharau                                        Waicoa Bay                       Tūhoe / Ngāti Maniapoto


Final team will be named after October 1, 2016.

Latest News