Badminton is played on a Tuesday night at the SBS Events Centre, Morgans Rd.   Competition is for 10 weeks and starts on the TBC and conclude at the end of Term 2.  Juniors start at 6.15pm and Seniors at 7.35pm.

​YEARS                                                                                                                        Years 9-13

​TERMS                                                                                                                        Terms 1 and 2   

COST -  approx $45


Weekly Competition starts - Start of Term 2 

Aoraki Badminton - Thursday 8 August                                                                                                                                         


School sports uniform, gymshoes

Teacher in Charge - Mr Gibbs

Aoraki Badminton 2023

On Tuesday the 8th of August, Craighead had 6 teams compete at the Aoraki Badminton Championships, 1 in the championship A grade, and 5 in the championship B grade. It was a fun day had by all and everyone played well! Congratulations the the championship A grade team who came third overall. The team was comprised of Koko Kubota, Pud Tantichantavong, Kelly Kim and Louisa Stewart. Congratulations to all that were involved and participated and thanks to Mr Gibbs for his organisation and management on the day.


This Tuesday saw the end of the 2022 Timaru Secondary Schools Badminton Competition. This year has been another successful year for Craighead Badminton. We had a lot of new players sign up, taking our total number of teams from 7 last year up to 12 this year.

In the final week of play, we were competing in some big matches. While we did not win them all, we did still get some excellent results to finish off a great season.

Some of the key results were:

  • Junior CDS 3 won the Junior Girls Division. This team consisted of Honour Andrews, Islabelle Taylor, Ruby Gordon, and Annabelle Talbot. They had the assistance of Riley Pawsey helping out in the final as a substitute. Even more impressive with this being their first year playing!
  • Senior CDS 2 were runners-up in the Senior Girls B Grade Division. This team was made up of Skye Bowen, Camryn Porter, Pear Chantrasup, and Haruka Kato.
  • Senior CDS 6 won the Senior Girls C Grade Division. This team included Samantha Giddings, Mia Donaldson, Emma Campbell, Heather Miller, and Abby McLeod.