The coveted Chapple Cup always holds pride of place in a District Association's cabinet

An annual men's tournament normally contested in the one-day and T20 formats, the quest for the inter-District white-ball silverware typically brings all eight CD District Associations together over three days to crown the season's champion from Taranaki, Manawatū, Nelson, Marlborough, Horowhenua-Kāpiti, Hawke's Bay, Whanganui or Wairarapa

DID YOU KNOW: the 8 antler points on the CDCA logo represent our 8 District Associations


The 2021/22 Chapple Cup was hosted in Palmerston North 18-20 February 2022, and was played as a T20 round robin between six teams this year as the country grappled with the COVID-19 Omicron outbreak, and Wairarapa and Marlborough elected not to participate

After a busy Friday and Saturday at Fitzherbert and Manawaroa Parks, the final round on Sunday was washed out and, as the only undefeated team after the first four rounds, Hawke's Bay reclaimed the title they last held two seasons ago, with Manawatu finishing as runners up


The 2020/21 Chapple Cup was jointly hosted in Palmerston North and Levin in November 2020, with Nelson beating defending champion Hawke's Bay in the Final at Donnelly Park to lift the trophy. Taranaki claimed the Cave Cup in the minor playoff Final. View the results in the image panels below.

FORMAT (in a typical season)

  • The tournament is live-scored on CricHQ
  • The first round is randomly drawn and announced on CDCA social media channels
  • The tournament is played over a weekend, beginning on a Friday and culminating in a Finals day on the Sunday
  • The four winning teams on Day One progress to play for the Chapple Cup while the four losing sides play for the Cave Cup
  • The main draw matches are all one-day contests
  • The Day Two winners (Saturday) meet in their respective Chapple and Cave Cup Finals on Sunday whilst the unsuccessful teams will finish their tournament by playing T20 matches on the final day.


  • When Taranaki lifted the 2018 Chapple Cup, it was Taranaki's first title at the tournament in nine years
  • Hawke's Bay and Manawatū have met regularly in the finals in recent seasons; Hawke's Bay having beaten Manawatū Final in the 2019 Chapple Cup Final at Nelson Park
  • Marlborough won the 2019 Cave Cup and claimed this title for a steady five seasons on the bounce until 2020.