Ian Olan - Chairman

Ian Olan is Chief Operating Officer for Auckland UniServices. Most recently Ian was General Manager, Group Shared Services for Fletcher Building, after being Group Transformation Manager. Prior to this he was a Divisional CFO with Fisher & Paykel Healthcare for the global Obstructive Sleep Apnoea division for five years. Ian brings over 20 years’ experience in various business improvement, transformation, and finance roles, after starting his career with PwC in Mexico.

Ian has an MBA and Bachelor’s degree in Public Accounting and Auditing from Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla. He is a chartered accountant and a fellow member of CPA.

Emile Va'afusuaga - Vice Chairman

Emile Va’afusuaga is a transition tertiary teacher with the Te Ara Poutama Centre, Rosehill Special School. Prior to this, he was a RTLB manager for the MOE service and a past board member for the National RTLB service. He has a Master of Education (Hons) from the University of Auckland and is currently an advisory board member (Pasifika) with Counties Manukau East Police. He is an original CMRL board member from inception. Emile is passionate about education, community engagement and growing the game.

A former representative player for league, tag & touch (NZ and overseas), he played for Papatoetoe, Mangere East and Otahuhu.

Colin Groves - Independent Director 

Colin is an entrepreneurial business strategist, marketer, business mentor and investor. Colin is a Chartered Accountant and has extensive corporate governance experience.

Originally from Cornwall, for the past 25 years, Colin has worked for the Tetra Laval Group, heading M&A. Colin is a professional director, who sits on and chairs various NZ and UK Boardsranging across investments companies, start-ups, high-performance sports, and agri-tech companies.

A passionate supporter of League and Union, Colin represented England at School Boy and Colt levels.

Willie Maea - Independent Director

Willie Maea previously worked for 12 years in the Counties Police HQ as the Pacific Coordinator (alongside Alf Filipaina) finishing in 2015, when he spent 1 year as the Regional Sports Coordinator looking after the Otara/Papatoetoe Region for Counties Manukau Sports finishing this role in 2016. Willie is now currently the Northern Regional Manager for New Zealand Institute of Sport looking after the Auckland and Hamilton Regions. He is the Convenor for the Otara Sports Awards, which held their inaugural Awards in 2017 inducting League Greats Tawera Nikau and Ruben Wiki into its Hall of Fame. Willie is the Chairman of the Otara Rugby League Football Club and has been in this role  since 2012, he is also a member of the ARL Premiership Review Committee in the years 2017 - 2018, the Chairman of Samoa Tag since 2015 and also the Chairman of OsTag which has been looking after Counties Manukau Tag National Teams since 2013.

Antonio Rivera - Elected Director

Karla Matua - Appointed Director

Rick Steedman - Appointed Director


Bill McEntee - President