New Zealand secondary schools teams announced for Canberra tests



We are pleased to announce the following players who have been selected for the New Zealand Schoolgirls & Schoolboys teams to compete against Australia in the annual Trans-Tasman Test Series from December 18-21st in Canberra, Australia.




Libby Alsemgeest- Hillcrest High School, Hamilton

Shinae Carrington - Diocesan School, Auckland

Bernadette Doyle - St Cuthbert’s College, Auckland

Grace Elisara - Mount Maunganui College, Tauranga

Ella Harford - St Cuthbert’s College, Auckland

Emmerson Houghton - Hillcrest High School, Hamilton

Kaitlin Howarth - Rangitoto College, Auckland

Julia Kayes - Mount Maunganui College, Tauranga

Bridget Layburn - Westlake Girls High School, Auckland

Gabriella McDonald - St Kentigern College, Auckland

Tai Nimo - St Cuthbert’s College, Auckland

Caitlin Mary Parker Allen - St Cuthbert’s College, Auckland

Ellie Tomoana - St Cuthbert’s College, Auckland

Non-Traveling Reserves

Clodagh Weir - Kristin School, Auckland

Charlie Hooke - Diocesan School, Auckland


Head Coach: Tim Chambers – Wellington

Asst. Coach/Manager: Sarah Chambers – Wellington

Asst. Coach: Natalie Seabourne – Auckland




Rowan Brown - Rangitoto College

James Catlin - Rosmini College

Calum de Jager - Auckland Grammar School

Matt Dell - Sacred Heart College

Ben Fleming - St. Kentigern College

Bae Fountain  - Mount Maunganui College

Brandon Matthews- Long Bay College

Matt Morris - Rangitoto College

Nick Paterson - Macleans College

Josef Schuler - Aquinas College

Billy Simpson - St. Kentigern College

Michael Slessor-White - Rosmini College

Matt Stirling - St. Kentigern College

Non-Traveling Reserves

Caleb Brooke – King’s College

Daniel Cameron - St. Peter’s College

Amosa Gould – King’s College

Nick Hermans - Sacred Heart College


Head Coach: Rahiti Teokotai-White – Hamilton

Asst. Coach/Manager: Davor Carevic - Auckland

Asst. Coach/Manager: Chris Naylor - Wellington

New Zealand is the defending champion in both series, winning in Auckland last year.

The New Zealand Schoolboys and New Zealand Schoolgirls have competed in an annual three-test series against Australia since 1982. The New Zealand Schoolboys have won the series ten times, and the New Zealand Schoolgirls eight, including the last three.

The teams have held the Trans-Tasman shields at the same time on four occasions: 2016, 2015, 2010, and 2004.

2015 was the first time that a New Zealand male team had won a series against Australia in Australian waters. The series are hosted alternatively in Australia and New Zealand.

Latest News