​​​​​​​Black Ferns

Ponsonby Black Ferns

A player must be a Ponsonby member in the year(s) chosen for New Zealand to qualify for this list. There have been 24 Black Ferns chosen from Ponsonby, which ranks third among all clubs in the country.

Click on the link above for a full list of the club's Black Ferns, or on a name below for an individual profile. Recently Wellington-based journalist Adam Julian has completed profiles of most Black Ferns and these have been put up on www.allblacks.com; links have been added for each of the Ponsonby players.

​​​​​​​Tangaloa Edwards: New Zealand 1989.

Ana Nemaia: New Zealand 1989

Christine Papali'i: New Zealand 1989-90-92.

Nina Sio: New Zealand 1989-91-92. Later a Black Fern in 1994 from another club.

Elsie Paitai: New Zealand 1990-91.

Kimi Tiriamai: New Zealand 1990-91.

Sandra Wihongi: New Zealand 1990-92.

Anna Richards: New Zealand 1991-92-93-94. Previously a Black Fern in 1990, and later a Black Fern in  1996-97-98-99-2000-01-02-03-04-05-06-07-08-10, from other clubs.

Tracy Lemon: New Zealand 1991-94. Later a Black Fern in 1995 from College Rifles club.

Cheryl Waaka: New Zealand 2003-04. Previously a Black Fern in 1997-98-99-2000-01-02 from other clubs.

Linda Itunu: New Zealand 2003-04-06-07-08-09-10-14-15-17-18

Nicole Borthwick: New Zealand 2005.

Fa'anati Aniseko: New Zealand 2007.

Eloise Blackwell: New Zealand 2011-12-13-14-15-16-17-20-21. Also Black Fern in 2018-19 from Eden club.

Aleisha Nelson: New Zealand 2012-14-15-16-17. Later a Black Fern from College Rifles club.

Portia Woodman: New Zealand 2013. Later a Black Fern from Ardmore Marist club.

Charmaine McMenamin: New Zealand 2013-16-17-18-19-20-22.

Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate: New Zealand 2014. Later a Black Fern from Ardmore Marist club.

Aldora Itunu: New Zealand 2015-16-17-18-20-21.

Theresa Fitzpatrick: New Zealand 2017-18-19-22.

Natahlia Moors: New Zealand 2018-19-20.

Cristo Tofa: New Zealand 2020. Previously a Black Fern from North Harbour.

Sylvia Brunt: New Zealand 2022-23

Sophie Fisher: New Zealand 2023