St Oran’s College is a Year 7 to 13 college for girls founded by the Presbyterian Church of Aotearoa New Zealand in 1958. It became integrated into the State School system under the Integration Act 1975 in January 1991.

Set in the heart of Lower Hutt, the small size of the school (504 pupils) contributes to a ‘family’ atmosphere, creating a strong sense of belonging and community amongst students.

During its relatively short life, the college has established a proud tradition and an enviable reputation as a school which promotes holistic educational excellence underpinned by Christian values.

Our students’ performances in N.C.E.A. examinations have consistently ranked St. Oran’s College among the top academic schools in the Greater Wellington area.

The college provides many opportunities for student participation and success in a wide range of co-curricular activities, both sporting and cultural.

Promoting an inclusive school culture, St Oran’s College is a place where students can find a sense of belonging in shared rituals, values and traditions which also give a sense of history, community and of identity, underpinned by a safe and caring school wide culture.

​​​​​​​The Name of Our College

Honours St. Oran, who, in AD563 travelled from Ireland with St. Columba to settle on the Island of Iona.  Illness prevented St. Oran from accompanying Columba on his mission to bring Christianity to the Picts in Scotland, so he remained on Iona, offering prayers of intercession for the journey. St. Columba attributed his success in Scotland to St. Oran's prayers from Iona.

The Heraldry For Our Crest

Is as follows:                                                                                

"A walled crown with a cross" - an institution with a spiritual purpose

"The ring of glory" - linked with Celtic Christianity

"The stars" - the Southern Hemisphere

“St Andrew's cross” - Scottish/Presbyterian tradition

Our College Motto      

Nisa Dominus Frustra – Without the Lord in Vain

“Unless the Lord builds the house, those who build it labour in vain. 

Unless the Lord guards the city, the guard keeps watch in vain”. 

Psalm 127:1 (NIV)

The College Houses

Students of the College are divided into four Houses, Columba, Macfarlane, McRae, and Rutherford, for the purpose of competition. Various inter-house trophies are contested each year, and these generate friendly rivalry and House spirit. Our Athletics Sports, Swimming Sports, Performing Arts Evenings, and whole school writing are all House Competitions. There are six Whānau groups in each House.


 Columba  Acknowledges this College's connection with the founding of the Scottish Christian tradition by St.   Columba, from the Island of Iona.
 Macfarlane        Honours Rev. John Macfarlane who stepped ashore on Petone beach in 1840, beginning the first     Presbyterian Church in New Zealand.
 Rutherford           Honours Dr A. M. Rutherford, the Founding Chairman of the College, whose foresight,   enthusiasm   and commitment were largely instrumental in the  establishment of the College.
 McRae                   Honours Mrs Daphne McRae, Principal of St. Oran’s College from 1961 – 1968 and long serving   Member of the Society of the Hutt Valley Presbyterian College for Girls Inc.