Club Champs

3 December 2011

The day dawned overcast and drizzly and there were some quite heavy falls during the early morning.

Thirty seven members signed on for the 2010/2011 Tauranga Road Cycling Club Champs. A good cross section of riders were present with the A grade being down somewhat in numbers from previous years.

The weather conditions improved with the road race contested in very warm humid conditions with the riders undertaking the hill climb up the Minden in cross/tail wind conditions.

Daniel Molyneux continued his dominance of the Tauranga club championships winning the time trial, road race and the hill climb. Daniel posted an exceptional time up the Minden of 7 minutes 22 seconds and was well clear of his fellow A graders.

Heath Lett and Steve Wright were tied on points after the three events with Heath being awarded the silver medal on the basis that he beat Steve home in the road race.

The B grade was a tight contest with club stalwarts Tony Fairweather and Richard Bates being first equal on points with Tony taking the overall award due to his win in the road race.

Young Tom Carter was there abouts in all of the three events and won the hill climb convincingly.

The C grade had the biggest field of the day with Greg Kilgour out sprinting the field to win the road race with Daniel Hines charging up the Minden to win the hill climb in a very respectable time.

The overall winner and star of the C grade was Cullen Browne who is showing considerably promise as a cyclist and has only just finished his schooling at Tauranga Intermediate.

Regina Ansourge was dominant in winning the D grade from spirited opposition.

Results here....Click Here