A Grade

Tauranga Road Cycling Club welcomes a new member and a new A Grade Champion.

Daniel Molyneux gave a dominant display, winning the time trial, road race, and hill climb.

Zach Martin finished 2nd in each of the disciplines with Lucas Finucane giving a good all

round display to finish 3rd overall.

The road race was fiercely contested and a very fast time was posted for the tricky 60 km


B Grade

The B Grade went right down to the wire with a keenly contested event between Shane Kaio

and Niklas Ansorge. Niklas held the advantage after the time trial, was narrowly beaten in

the road race, and was finally edged out by Shane in the hill climb, with Shane holding a 1

second advantage over Niklas to win the B Grade Championship overall.

Niklas Ansorge posted the fastest time in the time trial, Shane Kaio won the road race, with

Dave Emslie storming up the Minden Hill to win the hill climb which elevated him to 3rd place

overall. Dave Emslie’s time up the hill climb would have placed him 4th equal in the A Grade,

which was a great effort.

The B Grade road race was evenly contested, with all 13 riders in with a chance of winning

the sprint finish.

C Grade

A field of six contested the C Grade which developed into a great tussle between Nigel Hines

and John Skelton. Nigel won the time trial and the road race, with John winning the hill climb

to secure fastest overall time and secure the C Grade championship.

Ari Finucane finished 3rd and had the misfortune to puncture after he had completed over half

of the time trial and had to start again which would have taken the edge off him.

Well done Ari, for completing the three stages.

D Grade

There were four contestants in the D Grade with Daniel Hines being edged out by Talbot

Munro in the time trial but managed to show a clean pair of pedals to Talbot and the others in

both the road race and the hill climb to win the D Grade Club Championships.

Talbot Munro finished 2nd with Morag Baruch boxing on gamely to finish 3rd.

The weather conditions were great for the Club Champs with overcast conditions, light winds,

and moderate temperatures.

Special thanks to our race officials and time-keepers, Brian Kelly and Brian Melville.

Special thanks also to Koops Cycles Avanti Plus and Avanti Plus Mount Maunganui who

generously provided the spot prizes which were drawn at the prize giving.

Club Champion: Daniel Molyneux

Women’s Club Champ: Vanessa Quin

Results here......Click Here