Welcome to the mighty

Te Atatū Roosters

Why the original members called themselves the Roosters is still not totally clear.

The English translation of Te Atatu is ‘the early morning’ and roosters are renowned as early risers but the more common theory is that the playing jerseys were nearly identical to those of the former Eastern Suburbs Roosters Club, now called the Sydney City Roosters.

Te Atatu was a trend setting club when it came to travelling to play rugby league in New Zealand and Australia.  It was the first Auckland Club to compete in Blenheim when Marlborough Rugby League reformed in 1974, and the 1968 Senior Team was the first New Zealand Team to play on Norfolk Island.

Te Atatu has produced 12 Kiwis through its history from the unforgettable Dennis Williams in 1971 to Shontayn Hape in 2004.

John Wilson, John Smith, Dean Orr, Ron O’Regan, Sam Panapa, Mark Horo, Peter Brown, Mark Elia, Henry Paul and Robbie Paul have all worn the famous black jersey with the white V.