YMP Rugby Football Club Inc

Tēnā koutou katoa,

Welcome to the longest surviving Māori rugby club in the Poverty Bay Rugby Union. The Club itself has its origins when the Young Māori Party, a political group headed by Sir Apirana Ngata, Dr Maui Pomare, Dr Peter Buck and Frederick Bennett, was promoting the philosophies of Māori social advancement. They did this by encouraging the revival of Māori culture and promoting the benefits of good health and housing and good education through the formation of sports and cultural groups to partake in inter-tribal competitions.

The Young Māori Party Football Club was formed after a meeting at Te Rau College in April, 1910.

Latest News