The Fairfield Bowling Club

The land on which the present bowling green is situated was originally part of the Martin Estate.

It was bequeathed to the miners of the district by William Martin in 1905.  The present green has been built on the exact site of the green laid in 1906-1907 by the miners who at that time had organized themselves into a club.

The brick part of the current building was the club house which was opened in October 1954.  This was built using club labour and raising funds from euchre nights.  Lights were installed on the green in the late fifties.

Brief History Fairfield Club 1907-2006.

1907    Fairfield was not represented at the formation of the Dunedin Bowling Centre.

1926    Club colours  Grey flannels with jade green facings.

1929    W. Howard Townrow was Fairfield’s first Centre Executive. He served on the
            Executive 1929-1935.

1935-36    Fairfield won the shield for Saturday Interclub scoring 84 points.

1953    Fairfield held a one day tournament allocated by the Dunedin Bowling Centre. .

1957    Green lights installed and officially opened in November .

1963    Mr. A.G. Chisholm elected Fairfield’s first Dunedin Bowling Centre President

1970    Fairfield wins Saturday Interclub for third consecutive year.

1971    Fairfield wins Saturday interclub four out of last five years.

1981    Fairfield’s 75th Anniversary year.  Ken Bartlett President.

1984    Ken Walker and Len Burnard win in a composite team, Fairfield’s first National Fours title.

1985    Fairfields first 24 hour Charity Bowlathon raised $4050 for charity.

1986    Ken Walker wins National Mens Singles title at Wellington.  Fairfield wins Saturday morning 10’s            for the first time.

1992    Ken walker represents New Zealand at World bowls in England.

1993    Fairfield wins Payton Memorial for best performing club over all mens  Competitions for fourth                time in a row.
          Fairfield wins the National Interclub 7’s in Auckland.  The first Dunedin club to win this                          competition

1999    Robbie Thomson wins NZ Superbowls Singles in Dunedin.

2000    Robbie Thomson represents NZ at World Indoor Singles in England.
            Paul Girdler represents New Zealand at World Bowls in South Africa

2002    Fairfield Mens and womens clubs amalgamated in 2002
          Final 24 hour Charity Bowlathon. $48,650 raised for charity over 16 years.         
          Fairfield won  the National Interclub 7’s title for the second time and won the Otago Sports
          Team of the year award.

2002-03    Murray Clydesdale Centre President

2004    Blair Barringer wins NZ under 25 Singles in Christchurch going on to represent NZ under 25 in

2004/05  Fairfield wins the premier Saturday competition Holmes Feathers for the first time.

2006    Graeme Reynolds President for the Fairfield club Centennary .