Board of Trustees

What are BOT's

All of New Zealand's state schools have a board of trustees (BOT). The BOT is the Crown entity responsible for the governance and the control of the management of the school, and are accountable for the school’s performance.  

The BOT is responsible for determining the strategic               direction in which the school is heading                  (in consultation with parents, staff and students).  The BOT must also ensure that its school provides a safe environment and quality education for all its students. BOTs are also responsible for overseeing the management of personnel, curriculum, property, finance and administration.

The Principal is the BOT's chief executive in relation           to the school's control and management.                The Principal is required to comply with the Board's general policy directions; but has complete discretion to manage the school on a day to day basis.

Who is on the BOT?

At Westshore School, our Board is made up of:

- The Principal of the school
- One elected staff representative: 
- Four parent elected trustees
- Co-opted trustees (as needed)

Trustees are elected by the parent community and staff members.  Elections for parent and staff trustees are held every three years.  A by-election can occur at any stage in the 3 year election cycle if an elected trustee resigns from the board and thereby creates a casual vacancy.

Current Board Members 2024

Ailne Bradley:  ​​​​​​​Presiding Member

Martin Madden: Principal

Brook Forman: Staff Representative 

Jo Mosley: Deputy Presiding Member

Keith Price: Parent Representative​​​​​​​

Lyn Oliver: Secretary​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

To contact a member of the Board of Trustees, please email: [email protected] or write care of the School Office.

 Emails will be directed to the Presiding Member - You may also leave a message at the office on (06) 835-9565