YEAR 7-9

Curriculum Information

Year 7-9

In Years 7-9, learning is based on the New Zealand National Curriculum including the key competencies identified through the Ministry of Education Curriculum Review:

Relating to others, Managing self, Participating and contributing, Thinking, Using languages, symbols and texts.

Programmes are taught both in home bases and in specialist facilities by highly skilled specialist teachers.

There is a focus, in all subject areas, on literacy and numeracy.

Homeroom Core Subjects:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Health
  • Thinking Curriculum
  • Individual Inquiry
  • Life Skills/Careers/Social Skills

Specialist Areas:

  • Food Technology
  • Te Reo Maori
  • Hard Materials
  • Fabric & Design
  • Graphics
  • Visual Arts
  • Enterprise/Business Studies
  • ICT
  • Physical Education
  • Digital Technologies
  • Information Literacy