The club was formed in 1963, the first fourteen junior teams took the field in 1964.  Before this, teams from the area had been attached to the Otahuhu club.  In 1969 the club won the Senior B championship and the Norton Trophy and were promoted to play in the Auckland Rugby League's premier grade the following season.  In 1971 the club was able to afford a $50,000, 6000sq ft club house which was built at Walter Massey Park, the clubs home ground since its foundation.

The club adopted the nickname "The Hawks" in 1973, after forming a sister club partnership with the Ryde-Eastwood Hawks in Sydney. They were one of the first clubs in Auckland to adopt a nickname.  In 1977 Olsen Filipaina became the first Hawks junior to represent his country and in 1978 the club, coached by Ernie Wiggs, made its first Fox Memorial grand final, being defeated by Otahuhu.  

On 29 June 1991 five of the Ropati brothers; Tea, Iva, John, Joe and Peter all played together for the Mangere East senior side. In 2003, the clubs 40th jubilee season, the Roy Chan coached Hawks Roy Chan won their first Fox Memorial title.​​​​​​​