The Metro Lions are an AFA club with 4 teams in Auckland's contact American Football Leagues -​​​​​​​

Premier Mens Open, Colts-U19, Juniors-U16 and Womens Open.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

We also have 4 teams in the AFA Flag Football competition.

Premier Men's Open, 2 x Premier Women's Open and Junior Men-U17.

The American Football season in Auckland runs from late October through to mid Februrary.

Metro Lions traditionally start full training after the Labour Weekend and competition runs through to the culmination of the Kiwi Bowl finals football weekend, normally scheduled for late February or early March.

Preseason preparations often start late September depending on Auckland City Council facilities availability. Club trainings are on Mondays and Wednesday nights.

New Zealand's longest established American Football Club, originally known as the Mountain Lions.

First incorpaorated as one of the 4 foundation clubs of the inaugural NZGFA competition of 1982, a succession that coninued through to the NZAFA and now a member of the NZAFF.

Original home was at Potters Park Mt Eden, but are now based at Grey Lynn Park, Central Auckland.

Established in 1978.

Premier Kiwi Bowl Champions🏆2019, 2013, 2008, 2006, 2005. 15 x Finalists.

Colts Unity Bowl Champions🏆2019, 2014, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2004, 2002, 2000, 1997. 13 x Finalists.

Junior Kiwi Bowl Champions🏆2018, 2014, 2009, 9 x Finalists.

Women's Kiwi Bowl Finalists 2021, 2020, 2017.

NZAFF Flag Football Club Championships🏆Premier Men's Champions 2021. 2020 5th place.

NZAFF Flag Football Club Championships. Premier Women's 2021 runners up.

AFA Club Lineman Challenge Champions🏆Overall Club Winner, Premier OL, Colts DL 2020. 

AFA Flag Men's Premier Championship🏆2020.

AFA Flag Women's Championship Finalist 2020.

AFA Flag Youth Championship 4th place 2020.

Riki Crichton. El Camino HS, California.

Euless Lawrence, Bowie HS, Texas.

Mark Nua. University Of Hawaii. 1990 Japan Bowl. NFL San Diego Chargers. WLAF Sacremento Surge.

Onesemo Toa Sagapolu. Mt. SAC, Univerity Of California Berkeley. 1992 Citrus Bowl.

Mitch Waerea, Southside HS, Arkansas.

Robert Billington. Eastern Utah.

James Oldehaver. Taft Colllege, California.

John Freeman. University Of Hawaii. 1989 Aloha Bowl.

Tim Hughley. Shaw HS, Ohio. California State University, Long Beach.

Houdini Nua. University Of Utah.

Ritch Tia. Snow College, Utah.

Chris Tia. Snow College, Utah.

Sifa Tangi (R.I.P). JuCo Los Angeles, California.

Shannon Stowers. Utah State University, Pasadena City College.

William Hodgman. Bishop O'Dowd HS, California. Arizona Western College. Simon Fraser University.

Joshua Nunu. Pitt State, California.

Lance Tongakilo. Pasadena City College, Cerritos College.

Mone Vunileva. Foothill College, California.

Luther Clayton. Hunter HS, West Valley, Utah.

Lone Toailoa Isara. Mt SAC, University Of Californa Berkeley. 2018/19 Cheez-It Bowl. 2019/20 Red Box Bowl. 2020 Joseph McDonnell Kavanagh Award recipient. 2021 NFLIPPP.

Houston Noema. City College Of San Francisco. 2015 San Francisco Community College Bowl.

Donovan Vance, Quincy University, Illinois.

Bryan Fisiiahi. Santa Rosa JC, California.

Charles Raass. Skyridge HS Utah. Snow College, Utah.

Lito Raass, Skyridge HS, Utah.

Camaron Langton. MidWestPrep Acadeny. Illinois.

Jesse Kaiser-Tuialii. Aquinas HS, California. 2019 Polynesian All American Bowl. New Mexico Military Institute. 2021 Graphic Edge Bowl. 2021 NJCAA D1 National Championship Title.


Whilst we try to keep these records accurate, we are sure you can appreciate this input relies on contributions.

If anyone has any info they would like to add, please send through and we will be happy to update.