The Metro Lions are an AFA club with 4 teams in Auckland's contact American Football Leagues -​​​​​​​

Premier Mens Open, Colts-U19, Juniors-U16 and Womens Open.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

We also have 4 teams in the AFA Flag Football competition.

Premier Men's Open, 2 x Premier Women's Open and Junior Men-U17.

The American Football season in Auckland runs from late October through to mid Februrary.

Metro Lions traditionally start full training after the Labour Weekend and competition runs through to the culmination of the Kiwi Bowl finals football weekend, normally scheduled for late February or early March.

Preseason preparations often start late September depending on Auckland City Council facilities availability. Club trainings are on Mondays and Wednesday nights.

New Zealand's longest established American Football Club, originally known as the Mountain Lions.

First incorpaorated as one of the 4 foundation clubs of the inaugural NZGFA competition of 1982, a succession that coninued through to the NZAFA and now a member of the NZAFF.

Original home was at Potters Park Mt Eden, but are now based at Grey Lynn Park, Central Auckland.

Established in 1978.

Premier Kiwi Bowl Champions🏆2019, 2013, 2008, 2006, 2005. 15 x Finalists.

Colts Unity Bowl Champions🏆2019, 2014, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2004, 2002, 2000, 1997. 13 x Finalists.

Junior Kiwi Bowl Champions🏆2018, 2014, 2009, 9 x Finalists.

Women's Kiwi Bowl Finalists 2021, 2020, 2017.

NZAFF Flag Football Club Championships🏆Premier Men's Champions 2021. 2020 5th place.

NZAFF Flag Football Club Championships. Premier Women's 2021 runners up.

AFA Club Lineman Challenge Champions🏆Overall Club Winner, Premier OL, Colts DL 2020. 

AFA Flag Men's Premier Championship🏆2020.

AFA Flag Women's Championship Finalist 2020.

AFA Flag Youth Championship 4th place 2020.

Kere Maihi. Counties Rugby Football Union.

Mark Nua. Auckland Junior Shot Put Champion.

Steve Willoughby. Auckland Maori RFU. Rosslyn Park RFC, UK.

Robert Billington. Emerging Kiwis Rugby League.

Mani Solomona. Toa Samoa Rugby League.

David Poching. Toa Samoa Rugby League.

Matthew Perrott-Hunt. Junior Kiwis Rugby League.

Frederick Sapatu. Toa Samoa Rugby League. Western Reds RL AU.

Tanner Vili. Manu Samoa Rugby Union.

Shannon Stowers. Toa Samoa Rugby League. NZ Warriors RL.

Sonny Bill Williams. NZ Kiwis Rugby League. NZ All Blacks RFU. 

Afele Leona. Commonwealth Games Niue Sevens and Athletics.

Kimami Situati.  Australian Sevens.

Simon Ieremia- Toa Samoa Rugby League.

Cyruss Payne. Niue Rugby League.

Puna Tia.  Manu Sina Womens Rugby

Faamoana Leilua.  Manu Sina Womens Rugby

Ala Bakulich-Leavasa.  Manu Sina Womens Rugby

Hamida Kapsin-Ali.  Manu Sina Womens Rugby

Juanita Hall.  Kiwi Ferns Rugby League.

Danielle Porangi.  Niue Womens Rugby League.

Patrick Vaivai. Newcastle Knights Rugby League.

Steven Luatua. Blues Super Rugby. NZ All Blacks RFU. Bristol RFC UK.

Ben Lam. Blues Super Rugby. Hurricanes Super Rugby. NZ Sevens. Bordeaux FR.

Pita Ahki. NZRFU U20. Blues Super Rugby. Hurricanes Super Rugby. Stade Toulouse FR.

Michael Tamoaieta (RIP) - Blues Super Rugby.

Peter Chanel-Tagaloa. Auckland RFU.

Leif Keil-Schwencke. Auckland RFU. Manu Samoa RFU.

Alex Hodgman. Crusaders Super Rugby. Blues Super Rugby. NZ All Blacks RFU.

Isaiah Papali'i. NZ Kiwis Rugby League. NZ Warriors. Parramata Eels.

Darcy Williams. Professional Boxing Commision of NZ Official.

Connor Regan. Emirates Team New Zealand AC36 Support Crew.

Josiah Afu. NZ Maoris Rugby League. 

Alisa Tuatagaloa. Samoa Football Federation.