Our History

In 2009 a SPARC commissioned report identified Rugby League as a bedrock sport in Counties Manukau and recommended the establishment of the Zone. Counties Manukau Rugby League is 1 of 7 Zones.  In 2010 this became a reality and the Zone and sport has succeeded on many levels since.

Our Region

The Zone’s technically stretches across three Councils, Auckland, Waikato and Hauraki District with our most northern Club and boundary starting in Otahuhu, then down to our furthest south club in Tuakau. South Eastern areas of Howick / Pakuranga also form part of the Counties Manukau Zone with the population estimated to be 512 130.

Our Members

We currently serve twelve clubs and 220 schools (Primary & Secondary) which represents approximately 8000 registered members, this excludes the many volunteers and supporters also involved in our game. We also offer the sport of Tag as an introduction to Rugby League.

Our Clubs: 

Otahuhu, Mangere East, Manukau, Papatoetoe, Otara, Pakuranga, Howick, Manurewa, Papakura, Pukekohe, Waiuku, Tuakau

The Counties Manukau Stingrays

The Stingray has a close affinity with the local Maori of the Manukau area. It was a Taniwha in the form of a Stingray that brought the ancestor ‘Hape’ to the shores of Manukau from Hawaiki. The name of the Taniwha is Kaiwhare and he is regarded as the guardian and protector of the Manukau harbour.

The Meaning of the Logo

The Stingray is designed inside a Hei Matau (fish hook) which has been turned on its side, to give an impression of a wave. There's also a negative image koru visible in the hook, which is a natural feature of many Hei Matau. The stingray’s eye also contains a kaka-beak-like pattern. Finally, the red, black and white are the colours of Counties Manukau region.