Welcome to the Craighead Sports Portal. For all Sporting Achievements, Acknowledgements, Events, please let Mrs Surridge know as soon as possible so it can be celebrated on the Sports Portal.

Click here to download the sporty app. 

Any questions please contact:

Mrs Diane Surridge (Sports Coordinator)                        Phone: 6842268 or 0272512667                                    [email protected]  


This form is designed to collect information that occurs when an accident or near miss occurs either on the School grounds or on a School activity that may involve staff, students or members of our community.


If your daughter is competing competitions coming up, please go to the relevant permission form and submit.

All permission forms are on the above Registration tab.

DRAWS: All draws are under the Draws/Results tab above. 

Click here for the Netball Draw 

Click here for the Basketball Draw 

Click here for the Rugby Draw 

Click here for the Hockey Draw  

Click here for the Touch Draw

Click here for the Volleyball Draw​​​​​​​




Aoraki Cross Country

On a bright and calm day, the Craighead Cross Country team began the secondary school season with a complete display in the annual Aoraki event held over the challenging Ashbury Park course in Timaru. With Craighead athletes winning all three races and the associated teams also gaining first place, Craighead continues to be the place to foster young athletes in the Aoraki region.

There were a number of exciting prospects on display in the junior grades to compliment those more experienced athletes on show. Charlie Nicol held off a charge from the Geraldine High School runner to win the Year 9 race, with Lily Crosbie finishing a creditable 5th place.

However, at the U16 level there is a cluster of athletes that dominated with Ruby Laming (Yr 11) , Kayla Allington (Yr 10) , Ruby Mahuika (Yr 10) and Brooke Thompson (Yr 10) placed first , second , third and fourth respectively, with Megan Alexander (Yr 10) placed seventh.

Completing the sweep was Lydia Giles (Yr 13) with a powerful sprint finish over the Roncalli runner and Faith Coffin (Yr 12) coming third. The key to a complete team performance is the ability to cluster places and with Marissa Shannon (Yr 13) finishing fifth and Emily Caird (Yr 12) eighth, the teams title was Craighead’s.

This was a great start to the season, with the team competing in the Southern Schools Cross Country on Sunday 26th May over the Ashbury Park course once again, before the team travels to Christchurch for the New Zealand Secondary School event on Saturday 15 and Sunday 16 June.

Aoraki Cycling

On Wednesday the 8th May, 3 Craighead students competed in Aoraki Cycling at Levels Raceway.

We were lucky enough to have awesome weather and there was a great turn out of riders from all over South Canterbury.

Sophie Burton came away with a 2nd place in both the Time Trial and RoadRace in the Year 7 and 8 Grade.

Zoe Spillane came away with a 2nd in the Time Trial and 3rd inthe Road Race in Over 16yrs category.

Carmina Cabrera-Martin came away with a 4th in both the Road Raceand Time Trial in the Over 16yrs.

To round out the successful day Sophie, Zoe and Carmina rodetogether in the Team Trial, and came away with 1st in the Over 16yr girls category.Zoe Spillane

Year 13

Aoraki Golf

Year 10 Charlotte Low attended the Secondary Schools Aoraki Golf event on Monday 6 May, which was held at the Pleasant Point Golf Club.

The morning of the tournament was very cold and I got to the course early to get set up. Kick off was at 9:08 with my group; one competitor from Timaru Girls and two more from St Kevins, Oamaru.

We finished at around 2:00pm and the Timaru Boys High School team won the team competition.

It was a great day overall all and it was a good experience for me.

Charlotte Low

​​​​​​​2024 School Cross Country

·       Minor Runner up: Lauren Crawford

·       Minor Champion: Charlotte Fenn      Morgan  Cup

·       Year 9 Runner up: Lily Crosbie

·       Year 9 Champion: Charlie Nichol      

·       U16 Runner up: Ruby Mahuika

·       U16 Champion: Kayla Allington         

·       U19 Runner up: Faith Coffin

·       U19 Champion: Lydia Giles                  Ian Maxwell Family Cup

The Kayla Cunningham Trophy for the Inter Sports Cross Country Challenge on behalf of Rowing is Annabel Talbot.

Overall Champion House: 1st Te Raki (17.5 points), 2nd Te Uru (16.5), 3rd Te Rawhiti (14), 4th Te Tonga (12)​​​​​​​

2024 Aoraki Secondary Schools Swimming

The Aoraki Swimming Festival was held recently in Ashburton.. Craighead was represented by four competitors who all did extremely well. Girls competing were:Emily Caird, Frankie Gough, Martina Naydenova and Brooke Thompson.A big thank you to Manager Deborah Gough.

Emily Caird                2nd Girls 15 & Over 50m Freestyle

                                  3rd Girls 15 & Over 50m Butterfly

Frankie Gough          1st Girls 14 & Under 100m Freestyle

                                  2nd Girls 14 & Under 100m Butterfly

                                  3rd Girls 14 & Under 100m IM

                                  3rd Girls 14 & Under 50m Butterfly

Martina Naydenova   2nd Girls 14 & Under 100m IM

                                  2nd Girls 14 & Under 100m Freestyle

                                  3rd Girls 14 & Under 50m Freestyle

Brooke Thompson     2nd Girls 14 & Under 50m Freestyle

                                  2nd Girls 14 & Under 50m Breaststroke

                                  3rd Girls 14 & Under 100m Breaststroke


1st Girls 14 & Under 200m Freestyle Relay - Frankie, Martina and Brooke