Wellngton Road Championship Results
23 August 2014.

Here are the results Click Here and here is the Judges Summary Click Here

Taranaki Race Walking Club’s Open Walk
7th June Taranaki Cycle Park

Taranaki Race Walking Club’s annual Open walk was held on the outside track of the Cycle park at Bell Block on Saturday. The hot mix surface is perfect for Race Walking and shows the versatility of the Cycle Park’s facilities.

30 Race Walkers from Taranaki, Wellington, Auckland and Christchurch were racing for a series of cups as well as the Race Walking New Zealand (RWNZ) 15km Championship.

In the Men’s 15km Championship, Mike Morresey (Egmont Athletics) for the second year running had a gun to tape win taking out the RWNZ 15km Championship in a time of 1h23m44s. This was a pleasing time for Morresey who is starting to regain his fitness after a long layoff due to injury. Harry Terwiel of Taranaki Race Walking Club (TRWC) was second in 1hr30m2s. There was an excellent race for 3rd place between David Sim (Auckland) and Alan Clarke (TRWC). Sim by halfway had a 200 metres gap, but during the second half Clarke gradually reduced the lead until they were together with 200 metres to go. Sim managed to put in a last effort to finish 3rd in 1hr39m51s.

In the women’s RWNZ 15km Championship it was a dominating display by Rozie Robinson of Christchurch. Robinson easily won in a time of 1hr25m35s, a walker who is again recovering from injury. The real race though was for second place between two walkers representing TRWC – Rachel Gilberd and Vanessa Lowl. Gilberd and Lowl were neck and neck for the first 5km. In the next 5km Gilberd took the lead out to nearly a minute and looked likely for second. Lowl though is known for her tenacity and started to close. By the bell there was a gap of just 18 seconds; Lowl came storming home to win in 1hr33m22s with Gilberd another 40 seconds back.

The Hawera cup is awarded for the first walker, male or female (on handicap) in the 15km event. Alan Clarke (TRWC) was just 18 seconds ahead of Terri Grimmett (wellington) on handicap time.

The Campbell Cup is awarded to the best female performance against handicap over 5 or 10km. This was a very strong field, with the cup being taken out by Sherryn Wilson (TRWC) – her first time racing in front of Judges; Wilson was only 5 seconds ahead of Daphne Jones (Wellington) on handicap.

The Trevor Suthon Cup is awarded to best performance against handicap for the over 60s. Tony Burrell (TRWC) and Dave Barrett (TRWC) put in their best performances for a couple of years and ended up in joint 1st place to share the Trevor Suthon Cup for the first time in its history.

The Bird Cup was keenly contested over 2km between Laura Kehely (Egmont) and Hannah Gilberd (TRWC). They were neck and neck for most of the race, with Gilberd showing her extra years of race walking by winning in a time of 13m55s, just 6 seconds ahead of newcomer Kehely.

Open Walks Summary
Women 10K Campbell Cup - 1st S. Wilson, 2nd D. Jones, 3rd A. Fraser
Fastest Time – S. Coombes – 1h4m42s

15K Hawera Cup - 1st A. Clarke, 2nd T. Grimmett, 3rd V. Lowl

Masters Men Trevor Suthon Cup – 1st= T. Burrell and D. Barrett, 3rd G. Iremonger
Fastest time – T. Burrell – 1h2m7s

G12 2K – 1st H. Gilberd – 13m55s, 2nd L. Kehely – 14m1s

RWNZ Men’s 15km championship – 1st M. Morresey – 1h23m44s, 2nd H Terwiel – 1h30m2s; 3rd D. Sim – 1h39m51s

RWNZ Women’s 15km championship – 1st R. Robinson – 1h25m35s, 2nd V. Lowl – 1h33m21s, 3rd R. Gilberd  – 1h34m15s.