The Inter-Regional Championships is a national competition contested by teams representing New Zealand Canoe Polo’s five regional associations. The regional bodies are geographically divided in to the following regions:

Northern (Taupo – top of the North Island)

Central (North Island below Taupo)

Eastern (Hawke’s Bay region and Gisborne and Taupo)

Mainland (Timaru – top of the South Island)

Deep South (South Island below Timaru)

The best of the best from each region compete for medals in U18, U21, senior, masters and veterans categories with an overall trophy awarded to the most successful region. This event is held over two or three days with the competition venue rotated between regions. From 2013 this competition has been run every second year.

All dates will be listed on the Events pages once known.

Schedule of Host Region 

2019 – Northern

2021 – Eastern

2023 – Central (Mainland passed this year onto Central)

2025 – Mainland (Central and Mainland swapped hosting years)

2027 – Southern​​​​​​

Previous Inter-Regional Championships